CBIC honors seven at gala - The Daily Progress: Business

Twitter Facebook RSS Mobile Email
Wednesday, April 23, 2014

CBIC honors seven at gala

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, May 24, 2012 10:07 pm | Updated: 11:25 am, Wed Jan 23, 2013.

The Charlottesville Business Innovation Council on Thursday presented seven awards to local individuals and companies in honor of their contributions and work on technology-based economic development in Central Virginia.

About 200 people attended the 14th annual event at the Farmington Country Club.

Norman Bellingham, the 1988 Olympic Gold Medalist in kayaking, and Aneesh Chopra, former chief technology officer of the United States under President Barack Obama, were the evening’s featured speakers.

This year’s honorees:

 » HemoShear won the Rocket Award for rapid commercialization of a technology or product;

 » Silverchair Holdings Group won the Spotlight Award for bringing positive attention to the region;

 » Mikro Systems won the Breakthrough Award for a breakthrough or quantum advance;

 » Nikki Hastings won the Community Award for inspiring and preparing students to embrace the possibilities of technology;

 » Corrie Kelly of Woodbrook Elementary School won the Red Apple Award for inspiring and preparing students to embrace the possibilities of technology. The award includes a $2,500 technology in education grant funded by ExploreLearning and Garris and Co.;

 » Martin Chapman won the People’s Choice Navigator Award for significant leadership in the local or regional entrepreneurial or high-tech community; and

 » Beth Roireau won the CBIC Leadership Award for exemplary contributions to supporting and strengthening the organization.

The recipients were chosen by a panel of judges with expertise in advancing technology and innovation. The CBIC Leadership Award was selected by Gary Henry, chairman of the CBIC, with input from the group’s board of directors, and the People’s Choice Navigator Award was determined by community-wide online voting.

“We congratulate the honorees who are deserving examples of the entrepreneurs and leaders driving innovations that fuel our economy and teachers who are readying our future wave of tech-focused entrepreneurs and employees,” said Henry, who is also executive director of the Charlottesville Technology Incubator.