Star Exponent: Opinion

weather
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS
Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Opinion

Latest News

READER'S VIEWS: Gillespie has a proven track record

As President Obama continues his endless campaigning, golf playing, multiple and expensive taxpayer-paid vacations, and dithers on all subjects except criticizing law enforcement officers, the U.S. Government is in stalemate.

Updated: 6:41 am | See more

All of The Latest

Tuesday 09/16/2014
READER'S VIEWS: Gillespie has a proven track record
Updated: September 16, 2014 - 6:41 am

As President Obama continues his endless campaigning, golf playing, multiple and expensive taxpayer-paid vacations, and dithers on all subjects except criticizing law enforcement officers, the U.S. Government is in stalemate.

Monday 09/15/2014
Last week of summer a chance to party ... and fiesta
Updated: September 15, 2014 - 8:23 am

The Halloween displays are starting to pop up on Davis Street in downtown Culpeper, reminding us all that fall is just around the corner. But this week offers the chance to say "Not so fast" with a four-day party to close out the summer.

Sunday 09/14/2014
Thank you Internal Revenue Service
Posted: September 14, 2014

As some of you may have noticed I am quick to cast stones when our government takes, what I believe, to be are actions (and sometimes inactions) with which I disagree. I will undoubtedly continue to do so but today I wish to commend the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for its service to me.

Saturday 09/13/2014
Time for a new “Virginia Way”
Updated: September 13, 2014 - 8:46 am

How many Virginians does it take to change a light bulb?  Answer:  Five – one to screw in the new bulb and the other four to reminisce about how good the old one was.

Friday 09/12/2014
FRESH & LOCAL: Updates on EPA’s attempt to redefine ‘Waters of the U.S.’
Posted: September 12, 2014

I often have several of these Fresh & Local columns in the works, so I number them to ensure they stay in sequence.  This one is number 156.  Being a weekly column, numbers evenly divisible by 52 have a special meaning.   This is my third anniversary writing this column about locally grown food.  Since September 23, 2011, this Fresh & Local column has appeared in the Star-Exponent every Friday at the bottom of the editorial page in the print edition.

READER'S VIEWS: Did PTSD contribute to the McDonnell Verdict?
Posted: September 12, 2014

Reading the guilty verdict of former Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell and his wife Maureen, brought reflection of firsthand accounts that things were askew with Virginia’s then first family.

Wednesday 09/10/2014
PERSPECTIVE: McDonnell convictions alter Virginia’s sense of self
Updated: September 10, 2014 - 8:24 am

Bob McDonnell is lucky that Joan Rivers died the same day he was convicted of corruption. Perhaps only the comedienne’s barbs would sting more than the historic verdict.

Tuesday 09/09/2014
LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Warner is holding us back
Updated: September 09, 2014 - 5:33 am

Remember, Senator Mark Warner has voted with Obama all the time. he supports obamacare and does not care who lost their health policies or how much more they will have to pay.

Click to submit a letter to the editor
Click to view Community
Lifetime Warranty
LIFETIME WARRANTY only at Harrisonburg Ford. Contact us for more details!
Current Auctions
Visit JLRauctions.com To View Current Auctions!
Summer Sales Event
Summer Sales Event at Malloy Ford! Ford Certified Pre-Owned 1.9% for 60 Months APR Financing. Stop by our dealership or visit our website for more details. 
Call Graystone Homes Today!
Graystone Homes is best known for our high-end custom homes and renovations - but that's not all we do! Call Graystone today at 540-825-1600 to schedule an appointment and learn more. 
This Week's Open Houses!
In the market for a new house? Visit http://realestateiii.com/open-houses/ to view this week's open houses. Open houses are updated on Thursdays for the coming week. We hope you will join us. Please contact one of our Sales Associates if you don’t see your dream home on this list. They will be happy to assist you in your home search.
Sale at Fantastic Sams!
Going on Now! Sale on all Fantastic Sam Line of Products! Stop in today!