Former Virginia football player Anthony Poindexter is on the ballot for this year's College Football Hall of Fame.

Former Virginia safety Anthony Poindexter is on the ballot for the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame class, the National Football Foundation announced on Monday. Poindexter is one of 76 former FBS players on the 2020 ballot.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot when you think that more than 5.33 million people have played college football and only 1,010 players have been inducted,” NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell said. “The Hall’s requirement of being a first team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game.”

Poindexter certainly is one of the greatest players in Virginia football history. He holds five school records and finished his Cavalier career with 342 tackles and 12 interceptions. Poindexter was a two-time first team All-American and earned consensus first team All-American honors in 1998. He also was a three-time All-ACC selection and the 1998 ACC Defensive Player of the Year. Poindexter’s jersey was retired by Virginia in 2009.

If he is chosen for induction, Poindexter would become the seventh member of the Virginia football program in the College Football Hall of Fame, joining former players Bill Dudley, Thomas Coster Scott Jr., Joe Palumbo and Jim Dombrowski and former coaches Alfred Earle “Greasy” Neale and George Welsh.

This year’s ballot has been emailed to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select this year’s class.

Among the other notable players on this year’s ballot are former SMU running back Eric Dickerson, former California tight end Tony Gonzalez, former Virginia Tech defensive lineman Corey Moore, former North Carolina defensive lineman Julius Peppers and former Colorado running back and Heisman Trophy winner Rashaan Salaam.

The announcement of the 2020 class will be made in January in the days leading up to the College Football Playoff national championship game in New Orleans. The announcement will be televised and/or streamed live. Specific viewing information will be available closer to the event.

The 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class will officially be inducted during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2020, at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Get Breaking News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

John Shifflett is The Daily Progress sports editor. You can contact him at (434) 978-7250, jshifflett2@dailyprogress.com, or @John_Shifflett.

Load comments