Voting stickers, election day

The decisions put before voters for four Charlottesville offices have become clearer.

Now that the primaries are over and the filing deadline for independents has passed, the Nov. 5 elections are mostly set, though Tuesday’s results must first be certified by the Virginia Department of Elections, which will do so on June 24.

A look at what voters will decide:

School Board

Five candidates are seeking four seats on the Charlottesville School Board. Candidates do not declare a party affiliation.

Incumbents Jennifer McKeever, Sherry Kraft and James Bryant are seeking re-election, while Lashundra Bryson Morsberger and Christopher Meyer also will appear on the ballot.

Bryant will be seeking his first full four-year term. He was appointed in 2018 to replace Adam Hastings, who left to become principal of Walker Upper Elementary School. Bryson Morsberger was one of 10 others hoping to fill Hastings’ seat.

Bryant then won a special election that year to fill the rest of Hastings’ term, which expires in December.

Kraft will be running for a second term, and McKeever, the board’s current chair, will look to win her third.

The fourth seat is held by Ned Michie, who was appointed to replace Amy Laufer. Laufer moved to the county earlier this year and, on Tuesday, won the Democratic nomination for the 17th District seat in the Virginia Senate.

City Council

Six candidates will be fighting for three seats on City Council this year.

Bellamy Brown, Paul Long and John Hall made the ballot without party affiliation.

They will appear alongside Michael Payne, Lloyd Snook and Sena Magill, who prevailed in Tuesday’s Democratic primary.

Brown is a U.S. Marine Corps veteran who works in the financial services industry. Hall, a design engineer who focused on medical devices throughout his career, ran in the 2017 election. Long, who worked in the transportation department at the University of Virginia Medical Center, was on the ballot in 2009, 2011 and 2017.

This is the second attempt at office for Snook, a criminal defense attorney who sought the Democratic nomination in 1990.

Payne is a housing activist and Magill is a member of the board of directors of the Region Ten Community Services Board.

The candidates will be seeking four-year terms.

Incumbent Democratic Councilors Mike Signer and Wes Bellamy did not seek re-election after one term each on the five-member panel.

Councilor Kathy Galvin chose not to seek a third term and instead ran for the Democratic nomination for the 57th District in the House of Delegates. She lost the nomination to UVa professor Sally Hudson.

Other races

Llezelle Dugger will run unopposed for a second eight-year term as clerk of Charlottesville Circuit Court.

Only one candidate filed for the city’s two seats on the nonpartisan board of the Thomas Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District.

Director Joe Thompson will seek a second four-year term, while Clement “Kim” Tingley did not seek re-election.

Unless someone runs a write-in campaign for the second seat, the board will appoint someone to fill it.

Join our Mailing List

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Daily Progress editor Mark Newton contributed to this story.

City hall reporter

Nolan Stout is a reporter for The Daily Progress. Contact him at (434) 978-7274,, or @nstoutDP on Twitter and Facebook.

Recommended for you

Load comments