Orange County voters will find 13 local names on the ballot Nov. 5, but only one contested race—commonwealths’ attorney—among the 12 seats up for election.

Incumbent Diana Wheeler O’Connell will face challenger S. Page Higginbotham III to decide who will be the county’s top prosecutor. Otherwise, the remaining 11 candidates are all running unopposed.

Mark Amos is seeking his fourth term as sheriff. Renee Pope is running for a second complete term as commissioner of revenue, having completed the unexpired term of former commissioner Donna Chewning. Dawn Watson is running for a second term as treasurer.

In District 2, Jim White is seeking a second term as supervisor and Sherrie Page is running for a second term on the school board.

In District 3, Teel Goodwin is running for a fourth term on the board of supervisors and Mike Jones is running for his first full term on the school board. Jones was appointed to the board last fall.

In District 5, both Lee Frame (board of supervisors) and Jim Hopkins (school board) will run for their fourth terms.

Bob Brame is running for second term on the Culpeper Soil and Water Conservation District Board, while Robert Bradford is the longest-tenured incumbent seeking a sixth term.

O’Connell is running for her fifth term as commonwealth’s attorney, while Higginbotham will stand for election for the first time.

Meanwhile, Orange County voters reflected the will of their counterparts across the 17th Virginia Senatorial District in Tuesday’s primary.

Amy Laufer, of Albemarle County, received 689 votes (74%) to Ben Hixon’s 244 (26%) in Orange County’s Democratic Primary. District-wide, Laufer collected more than 78% of the vote.

She will face two-term Republican incumbent Bryce Reeves, who easily defeated challenger Rich Breeden. Reeves garnered 82% of the vote across the 17th District, and 86% in Orange County (with 1,479 votes to Breeden’s 232).

Democrat Ann Ridgeway will challenge two-term Republican Nick Freitas to represent Orange County and the 30th District in the Virginia House of Delegates, though neither faced a primary challenge.

Get Breaking News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
Load comments